What is Classification?

Paralympic sport exists so that athletes with disabilities have equal
opportunities to compete and be successful in sport. Classification groups
athletes who have similar impairments together into classes for
competition in their particular sport. Each Paralympic sport has a
different classification system, based on each sport’s specific athletic
skills and requirements. Each Paralympic sport has sport-specific minimal
disability criteria that athletes must meet in order to be eligible for
the sport. By grouping similar athletes together, an athlete’s disability
plays less of an impact on the outcomes of competition. This means that
classification helps to allow the fastest, strongest or best athletes in
each class to succeed in their sport.

Read: What is Classification?
Read: When is Classification required?

When is Classification required?

If you want to compete in sport as an athlete with a disability, you must undergo a sports specific classification assessment and hold a particular level of classification. Classification is not required for general participation or social involvement in sport.

In Australia, there are 3 levels of classification:

Provisional: For athletes who compete at club, school or regional competition and do not have access to a sport specific classification panel.

National: For athletes who have access to a recognized sport specific classification panel, and compete at state or national championships all Paralympic Sports. This includes School Sport State and National Championships.

International: For athletes who are selected for international competition.

Please refer to the following for further information:


If you require classification please contact Paralympics Australia, classification@paralympic.org.au

Further information can be found here:

or contact us at info@blindsportssa.org.au

Skip to content